Google this week announced that new warnings added in the Google Workspace Alert Center will keep administrators notified of critical and sensitive configuration changes.
Previously known as G Suite, Google Workspace provides secure collaboration and productivity tools for enterprises of all sizes. Accessible from anywhere in Google Workspace, the Alert Center delivers real-time security alerts and insights, to help admins mitigate threats such as phishing and malware.
With the new alerts in place, admins will also receive notifications whenever select changes are made to their Google Workspace configurations.
Specifically, warnings will be displayed when the primary admin is changed, when the password for a super admin account has been reset, and when changes are made to SSO profiles – when a third-party SSO profile has been added, updated, or deleted for the organization.
“These additional intelligent alerts will closely monitor several sensitive actions, making it easier for admins to stay on top of high-risk changes to their environment and potentially malicious actions being taken by bad actors,” Google explains.
An email notification containing key details on the event will be delivered to admins and super admins for each alert. The security investigation tool will allow admins to further investigate the reported incident.
The alerts and their associated email notifications are enabled by default and cannot be turned off.
The new capability is rolling out to all Google Workspace customers, including legacy G Suite Basic and Business customers, and is expected to become visible for everyone in the next couple of weeks.